9,08/10

Castel Camping Château de Poinsouze

France, Creuse, Boussac - Bourg - Locate on map 269 customers reviews Information about the campsite
Leave a review
Camping2Be Winner 2024
Castel Camping Château de Poinsouze - image n°1 - Camping2Be More pictures

Detailed comments on the campsite

Cleanliness 9,4
Accommodation/Pitch 9,3
Comfort 9,1
Reception 9,3
Services & amenities 9
Quality-price ratio 8,9
See all detailed ratings

Review (269)

Evaluations that are not older than two years and have undergone a verification process
Leave a review
10 /10
D David A. Posted 14/06/2024
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

The owners & staff were all very friendly & helpful making us feel welcome from the moment we arrived & throughout our stay. The on site restaurant served excellent meals. There is a lovely outdoor pool complex. The site is set in a wonderful natural location overlooking a magnificent lake & was so peaceful with plenty of entertaining wildlife. We had a small issue with our motorhome & was helped to address the problem on site - that was service above and beyond… This site deserves to do well & we hope to return again soon & will be recommending it to our motorhoming friends.

Accommodation review : Pitch Castel Suite Premium + electricity 20A - Water point - with private facilities - Z4

The convenience of our private washroom facilities & the ability to cook & eat at the covered table made for a wonderful stay. The pitch was very large & overlooked the beautiful lake.

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 10
Region 10
9,14 /10
A Alexis D. Posted 01/09/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

We enjoyed our stay very much, it was truly relaxing!

Accommodation review : Lodge Woody - 2 bedrooms 27m²

The lodge was very comfortable and had everything we needed.

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 9
Comfort 9
Reception 9
Services & amenities 9
Quality-price ratio 9
8,62 /10
B Beth K. Posted 01/09/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Beautiful location on lake.

Would be nice to have a bit more level, trees/bushes between sites and a view of chateau.

Accommodation review : Grand Confort pitch - Electricity 16A - Water - Drainage point - Z4

View was great from this spot.

Level

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 5
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 7
Region 7
8,67 /10
R Ray H. Posted 31/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

The campsite is well laid out, pitch sizes are very generous, nice swimming pool that didn't get crowded. The staff are very tentative and go above and beyond what one would expect.

The bar is a bit dead, no atmosphere. The shop isn't well stocked.

Accommodation review : Confort pitch - Electricity 10A - Water - Drainage point - Z1

Good size pitch with luscious grass

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 8
Quality-price ratio 7
Activities / Animations 4
Region 9
10 /10
J Jude J. Posted 30/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Very nice site, clean and quiet. The staff are very kind and generous in their help with speaking English as we don't have a good grasp on the French language. Such a nice site that we booked for an extra night. The owner is very nice and we would not hesitate to visit again if we were travelling in France again.

Nothing to dislike, even when the weather was a bit chilly at times.

Accommodation review : Grand Confort pitch - Electricity 10A - Water - Drainage point - Z3

Pitch is well equipped and large. Near to the sanitary block but not too close. Sanitary block is exceptionally clean and well equipped.

Nothing.

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 10
Region 10
9,22 /10
A Andrew S. Posted 28/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Poinsouze - very helpful and welcoming staff, great pool and playground facilities for the kids, the lake was small but fun for casual paddleboarding (we brought boards with us but could have hired water craft) Fresh bread from the shop every morning, and the site was very safe for our older son to go about all over by himself. Our toddler was very busy as well! The animations were great for our 10yo

Because lots of campers only stayed one or two nights en route to somewhere else, the kids making friends was inconsistent. Luckily there were a few other longer stay families at the same time as us.

Accommodation review : Grand Confort pitch - Electricity 16A - Water - Drainage point - Z4

Fantastic large pitch, plenty of space for our 8-man tent, awning, washing line, badminton and other outdoor games! Tree cover at one end of the pitch meant shade was available whenever we needed it, and the hedges demarked the edge of our pitch pleasantly.

One of the trees dropped Many acorns on the pitch so quite painful underfoot! Not a lot to be done about it but slip on shoes were necessary!

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 8
Services & amenities 8
Quality-price ratio 10
Activities / Animations 9
Region 10
9,25 /10
D David G. Posted 26/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Well organised. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Excellent restaurent and take away. The meal and concert was a highlight.

Would have been nice to be able to swim in the lake. This is not a dislike, but rather a suggestion, you could provide a range of walks and cycle rides information at reception. I'd be happy to hep with this!

Accommodation review : Grand Confort pitch - Electricity 16A - Water - Drainage point - Z4

Excellent pitch.

You could remove the hedge on our pitch as it divided it a little.

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 8
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 10
Region 10
10 /10
B Brian R. Posted 25/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

We received a superb, friendly welcome on arrival. Our serviced pitch was a really good size overlooking the lake. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the restaurant food was superb. We really enjoyed our short stay and meeting the people who worked here. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Leaving!

Accommodation review : Grand Confort pitch - Electricity 16A - Water - Drainage point - Z4

Pitch size was superb

No

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 10
Region 10
9,67 /10
K Katrina F. Posted 24/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

We had a lovely week with 2 primary aged children. They had so much independence in a safe and fun environment.

Accommodation review : Confort pitch - Electricity 6A - Water - Drainage point - Pink zone

The swimming pool, the football matches and the weather

No, but it would be great if the shop had a few more basic provisions.

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 10
Activities / Animations 10
Region 7
9,33 /10
S Steve W. Posted 23/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Excellent restaurant and bar, lovely pool, beautiful setting, amazing pitches, warm and welcoming staff.

We would have liked the restaurant to be open more evenings. More products in the shop wound have been helpful.

Accommodation review : Pitch Castel Premium - Electricity 20 A - Water - Drainage point - 102

Really excellent pitch and great value. Spacious with a great view over the lake and plenty of shade. Having a fridge and table and chairs plus WiFi included really good.

We weren’t given our Wi-Fi vouchers when we arrived which would have been helpful.

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 9
Quality-price ratio 10
Activities / Animations 9
Region 8
9 /10
A Alan S. Posted 16/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Fantastic pitches- good size, flat and shaded. Spotless washrooms with lots of hot water and good water pressure. Quiet and peaceful campsite which was a relaxing end to our holiday. Pool area was lovely and we also enjoyed sitting at the bar looking at the view.

Accommodation review : Confort pitch - Electricity 10A - Water - Drainage point - Z1

Flat spacious pitch

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 9
Services & amenities 9
Quality-price ratio 9
Activities / Animations 8
Region 7
9,38 /10
A Anthony S. Posted 11/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Everything. Have camped in France for over 50 years and this place has everything.

Some sites do have very little shade . Traffic speed limits need to be clearer and to be enforced.

Accommodation review : Grand Confort Z 3

Spacious with lots of shade

Had everything we wanted.

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 9
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 8
Activities / Animations 8
8,78 /10
J Joanne D. Posted 05/08/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

The friendly staff, the food in the restaurant and takeaway is excellent and the peaceful environment.

The weather!

Accommodation review : Chalet Premium - 3 bedrooms

Having a dishwasher was lovely, the view and space around the accommodation.

The sofa was not very comfy. The windows in the twin bedrooms could not be opened onto a tilt like in the master bedroom. Outside chairs as well as the wooden benches would be good, although the weather was not for sitting outside this week. A tv would have been a nice option to have.

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 9
Accommodation/Pitch 8
Comfort 8
Reception 10
Services & amenities 8
Quality-price ratio 10
Activities / Animations 8
Region 9
8,78 /10
L Lucy W. Posted 28/07/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Lovely pool with slide, and space on the grass around the pool on the odd occasion that sunloungers were full. Staff were lovely and friendly. Beautiful views. Nice bar area. Lovely touch to do the animal feeding every day.

Would have preferred: Pizza take away, heated pool, restaurant open every day with pizza and pasta, larger shop, an indoor space to go when it rains eg if the bar was open in the day to play board games.

Accommodation review : Pitch Castel Premium - Electricity 20 A - Water - Drainage point - 198

Huge space, view of the lake, lots of shade.

Nothing

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 8
Reception 10
Services & amenities 8
Quality-price ratio 9
Activities / Animations 8
Region 7
10 /10
S Stephen P. Posted 24/07/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Top marks to the staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Didn't manage to get to the restaurant, but the take away meals were top quality. Have booked to return late in the season and looking forward to another peaceful three nights in lovely surroundings.

Not a really a dislike, but the WiFi was a bit patchy where we were sited.

Accommodation review : Grand Confort pitch - Electricity 16A - Water - Drainage point - Z4

Huge pitch, southerly aspect, 2nd line back from lake, but still with uninterrupted views. Electricity, water and all waste disposal on pitch, perfect!

Pitch was so large that other campers felt able to short cut across it rather than walk around on the paths.

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 10
9 /10
R Robert james P. Posted 18/07/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Very impress with the restaurant and how the chateau is ran

No

Accommodation review : Confort pitch - Electricity 10A - Water - Drainage point - Z1

The complete stay

No

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 7
Region 5
9,67 /10
D David S. Posted 17/07/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Size of pitch, outlook

No

Accommodation review : Pitch Castel Premium - Electricity 20 A - Water - Drainage point - 102

Everything

No

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 9
Activities / Animations 10
Region 8
9,44 /10
A Alan L. Posted 25/06/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

This site is fantastic for relaxation and mindfulness and de-stressing. The Staff are all wonderful and the restaurant serves great traditional French food. This is my second visit and I love the site

Not much around when only using bikes for transport

Accommodation review : Grand Confort pitch - Electricity 10A - Water - Drainage point - Z3

Great pitches

No

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 8
Activities / Animations 10
Region 7
9,86 /10
V Victor H. Posted 25/06/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

Friendly staff, beautiful site, good food

Nothing

Accommodation review : Confort pitch - Electricity 10A - Water - Drainage point - Z1

Good site lots of space

Nothing

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 9
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 10
10 /10
M Mark D. Posted 24/06/2023
Certified reviews
Review of the campsite :

The pitches were generous, peaceful and tranquil. The site is immaculately maintained. All staff were helpful and courteous. Restaurant, bar and pool excellent. Will definitely return

Accommodation review : Premium Castel Confort

Generous pitch with a mixture of sun and shade. Beautiful views of the lake and chateau

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews
Detailed comments on the campsite
Cleanliness 10
Accommodation/Pitch 10
Comfort 10
Reception 10
Services & amenities 10
Quality-price ratio 10
Activities / Animations 10
Region 10
MORE RESULTS

Loading

customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews Camping2Be customers reviews